We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional cookies to understand how you use it, and to help us improve it.

For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK Civil Aviation Regulations

These are published by the CAA on our UK Regulations pages. EU Regulations and EASA Access Guides published by EASA no longer apply in the UK. Our website and publications are being reviewed to update all references. Any references to EU law and EASA Access guides should be disregarded and where applicable the equivalent UK versions referred to instead.

UK CAA National Medical Certificates

UK CAA Class 1

For Flight Engineers and Flight Navigators the initial medical examination is the same as the ‘old’ CAA Class 1 (previously required for ATCOs). It is similar to the Initial Class 1 medical examination but includes only the following:

  • Medical history
  • Physical examination
  • Eyesight (Generally follows Class 1 standards)
  • Hearing test (Audiogram - UK CAA Class 1 initial standards are equivalent to EU revalidation standards)
  • Electrocardiogram
  • Lung function test
  • Urine test

There is no requirement for an electroencephalogram (EEG) or blood tests. The initial examination is done at an Aeromedical Centre.
Renewal examinations can be done by any UK Aeromedical Examiner who can do Class 1 examinations. It is similar to the Class 1 revalidation examination, but with no requirement for blood tests or extended eye or ENT examinations.

All certificates are valid for 1 year.