• A Multi-pilot licence (MPL) will allow you to act as a co-pilot in an aeroplane required to be operated with a co-pilot for commercial air transport.

    If you hold an MPL you can get extra privileges, to include the privileges of the PPL(A) or of a CPL(A) or single pilot IR, if you complete additional training to meet the requirements of those licences.

    The MPL only includes instrument rating privileges for multi-pilot operations.

    The full privileges and conditions are detailed in FCL.405.A.


    • You will need to be at least 18 years old.
    • You will need to complete a training course of theoretical knowledge and flight instruction at an approved training organisation (ATO).
    • You will also need to pass exams to demonstrate the same level of theoretical knowledge as that of a holder of an ATPL(A) and of a multi-pilot type rating.

    Skill test

    You will need to demonstrate through ongoing assessment the skills required to fulfil the MPL training course requirements as the pilot flying the aircraft, and as the monitoring pilot. This must be done in a multi-engine turbine powered multi-pilot aeroplane under VFR and IFR.

    At the end of your course, you will also need to pass a skill test to demonstrate that you can perform the relevant procedures and manoeuvres at an appropriate level. You will need to take the test on the same aeroplane type as used in the later stages of your integrated MPL course or in a full flight simulator representing the same type.

    You will then need to complete the required base training.

  • Training

    MPL (A) integrated training

    The aim of the integrated MPL training course is to obtain a multi-pilot licence (MPL) and be trained to the level necessary to operate as co-pilot in a multi-engine, multi-pilot, turbine-powered commercial air transport aeroplane under visual flight rules (VFR) and instrument flight rules (IFR).

    There are no pre-requisites for this course.

  • MPL training will be undertaken at an approved ATO that is part of or has a specific arrangement in place with a commercial air transport operator that has been certificated by EASA. Your licence will be restricted to that specific operator until you complete the airline operator's conversion course.

    You will complete all the instructional stages in one continuous course at an ATO, which will be competency based and carried out in a multi-crew operational environment.

    This will include:

    • Theoretical knowledge instruction to the ATPL(A) knowledge level
    • Visual and instrument  flying training
    • Training in MCC for the operation of multi-pilot aeroplanes
    • Type rating training

    If you fail or are unable to complete the course

    If you fail or are unable to complete the course you and your ATO need to contact us via fclweb@caa.co.uk.

    Theoretical knowledge training

    The course will include 750 hours of instruction to ATPL(A) level plus the hours for the type rating you are applying for.

    Theoretical knowledge examinations

    The theoretical knowledge areas include: 

    • Air law
    • Aircraft general knowledge - airframe/systems/powerplant
    • Aircraft general knowledge - instrumentation
    • Mass and balance
    • Performance
    • Flight planning and monitoring
    • Human performance
    • Meteorology
    • General navigation
    • Radio navigation
    • Operational procedures
    • Principles of flight
    • Visual flight rules (VFR) communications
    • Instrument flight rules (IFR) communications


    The flying training will include at least 240 hours, including Pilot Flying and Pilot Not Flying hours, in both an aeroplane and a simulator, and the MCC requirements, and will cover the following: 

    Phase 1 - Core flying skills 

    Specific basic single-pilot training 

    Phase 2 - Basic 

    Introduction of multi-crew operations and instrument flight 

    Phase 3 - Intermediate 

    Application of multi-crew operations to a multi-engine turbine aeroplane certified as a high performance aeroplane. 

    Phase 4 - Advanced 

    Type rating training within an airline environment 

    Flight experience not completed in a simulator will include: 

    • the requirements for any type rating you need
    • upset recovery training
    • night flying
    • flight solely by reference to instruments
    • the experience required to achieve the relevant airmanship.

    You will be given training in asymmetric flight in an aeroplane or a suitable simulator. 

    Each phase will include both instruction in the underpinning knowledge and practical training. Your course syllabus and progress will be assessed throughout to ensure that the course is relevant and that you learn the essential skills.

    The training course must include at least 12 take-offs and landings, performed under the supervision of your instructor in the same aeroplane that you are completing the type rating for.

  • How to apply

    You will need to hold a valid English Language Proficiency and your valid Part MED Medical certificate must be held on our UK database.

    If you hold or held a JAR or EASA licence in another Member State, you need to complete the Change of State and SOLI procedures to transfer your licence and medical to the UK before applying.

  • Related Information

    Please ensure that your training provider is approved to conduct the training that you are undertaking.

    We strongly recommend you check that your instructor and examiner hold the relevant privileges to conduct the training and any flight test, examination or assessment of competence that is being carried out.

    How to find a UK examiner or UK approved school

    EASA ratings list and flight simulators