We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional analytics cookies to help us improve it.
For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK – EU Transition, and UK Civil Aviation Regulations

To access current UK civil aviation regulations, including AMC and GM, CAA regulatory documents, please use this link to UK Regulation. Please note, if you use information and guidance under the Headings below, the references to EU regulations or EU websites in our guidance will not be an accurate information or description of your obligations under UK law. These pages are undergoing reviews and updates.

An aircraft becomes known as an orphan when the type is no longer supported by a Type Certificate Holder and the State of Design.

Orphaned aircraft may be granted Permits to Fly by the CAA subject to demonstration of acceptable airworthiness in accordance with CAA procedures and requirements.

The UK provides an option that any owner who wishes to obtain a National ICAO Certificate of Airworthiness can do so when supported by a Type Responsibility Agreement (TRA), if established.

Anyone intending to apply to for a Permit to Fly or Certificate of Airworthiness should contact Applications and Approvals on the details below.

CAP 562 Leaflet B-90 “Information for Continued Airworthiness of Non-EASA Aircraft Designed in the UK and Elsewhere” provides a list of TRA holders and their applicable orphan aircraft.

Provide page feedback

Please enter your comments below, or use our usual service contacts if a specific matter requires an answer.

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.

Latest from UK Civil Aviation Authority

  1. UK Civil Aviation Authority update on ATOL Reform consultation
  2. 2022 quarter one flight data
  3. Continued focus on change for GA Team

View all latest news