We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional cookies to understand how you use it, and to help us improve it.

For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK Civil Aviation Regulations

These are published by the CAA on our UK Regulations pages. EU Regulations and EASA Access Guides published by EASA no longer apply in the UK. Our website and publications are being reviewed to update all references. Any references to EU law and EASA Access guides should be disregarded and where applicable the equivalent UK versions referred to instead.

This page offers guidance to appropriately approved organisations and licensed engineers when issuing and / or extending National Airworthiness Review Certificate (ARC) for UK registered non-Part 21 aircraft.

Issue refers to the new National ARC issued following expiry of the old one, usually following two extensions of the previously issued National ARC.


Applicants must hold the necessary privileges to issue and / or extend a National ARC, as appropriate.

Who can apply?

A BCAR A8-25 CAMO with the appropriate privilege is able to issue and extend a National Airworthiness Review Certificate (ARC) regardless of aircraft being in a controlled environment.

A BCAR A8-15 (Iss 7 of CAP 553) approved organisation is able to extend a National ARC following a satisfactory Annual Review or make a recommendation for a new National ARC (for aircraft of 2730kg MTOW and below, not being used for Commercial Air Transport or State purposes).

An appropriately Licensed Engineer has the privilege to extend a National ARC following a satisfactory Annual Review (for aircraft of 2730kg Maximum Take-Off Weight (MTOW) and below, not being used for Commercial Air Transport or State purposes and which are not in a controlled environment).

How do I apply?

Please contact apply@caa.co.uk to request the necessary National Airworthiness Review Certificate (ARC) templates.

What do I need to include with my application?

Organisations and licensed engineers with the appropriate privilege to Issue or Extend National ARC's must send:

  • A copy of the issued or extended National Airworthiness Review Certificate (ARC) must be sent to apply@caa.co.uk within 10 days of issue.
  • correct fee

How long is it valid for?

12 months unless revoked, suspended or cancelled.

What else do I need to know?

The information below provides further guidance on what else you will need to know about National Airworthiness Review Certificates (ARCs):

  • An aircraft is deemed to have been in a controlled environment if it has been continuously managed during the previous 12 months by a CAMO approved for the purpose and maintained by a maintenance organisation approved in accordance with British Civil Airworthiness Requirements (BCAR), or where permitted, pilot maintenance.
  • For ARC issue, a BCAR A8-25 CAMO shall carry out a satisfactory Airworthiness Review in accordance with BCAR A8-25.
  • For National ARC extension of aircraft not in a controlled environment, a satisfactory Annual Review shall be carried out in accordance with BCARs A3-1. Please refer to the ‘Who can apply’ section for more guidance.
  • For orphan aircraft types a valid Type Responsibility Agreement (TRA) must be in place.
  • Aircraft may require a valid Check Flight.
  • All maintenance carried out on the aircraft must have been performed by a suitably approved maintenance organisation, or appropriately licensed engineers or the pilot / owner as appropriate.
  • BCAR Section A - Airworthiness Procedures where the CAA has Primary Responsibility for Type Approval of the Product (CAP 553)
  • BCAR A3-1 for requirements on C of A.
  • BCAR A3-3 for requirements on Check Flights.
  • BCAR A6-1 for requirements on Maintenance and Continuing Airworthiness of Non-Part 21 Aircraft.
  • BCAR A8-25 for requirements on the Airworthiness Review.
  • Official Record Series 5, CAA Scheme of Charges.
Close What else do I need to know?

How much does it cost?

The C of A Fee Calculator for non-Part 21 aircraft advises on the current charges.

In the event of a discrepancy between the information here and the Official Record Series 5, CAA Scheme of Charges (Airworthiness, Noise Certification and Aircraft and Aircraft Engine Emissions), the Scheme of Charges takes precedence.

Payments can be made by credit or debit card or by bank transfer made payable to the Civil Aviation Authority.

When using bank transfer, make sure you identify what the payment is for by including:

  • the aircraft registration
  • the application type (for example National ARC issue)
  • the receiving department
Close How much does it cost?

Additional charges

If the cost of our investigations exceeds the application charge payable, there will be additional charges to recover those excess costs incurred by the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) in accordance with the Scheme of Charges.

The balance for the excess hourly charge (total hourly charge less initial charge already paid) is payable to the CAA and will be invoiced to you.

Close Additional charges

What happens next?

Once the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) has received the signed National Airworthiness Review Certificate (ARC) it will be displayed on G-INFO within 10 working days.

Close What happens next?