We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional cookies to understand how you use it, and to help us improve it.

For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK Civil Aviation Regulations

These are published by the CAA on our UK Regulations pages. EU Regulations and EASA Access Guides published by EASA no longer apply in the UK. Our website and publications are being reviewed to update all references. Any references to EU law and EASA Access guides should be disregarded and where applicable the equivalent UK versions referred to instead.

In July 2023, the Digital National X-Ray Competency Test (DNXCT) replaced the NXCT as the UK image competency test for X-ray/EDS screeners.

All X-ray/EDS screeners in the UK are required to hold valid screener certification, including a valid DNXCT for all required categories.

The DNXCT has 7 test categories:

  • Cabin Baggage 2D
  • Cabin Baggage 3D
  • Hold Baggage 2D
  • Hold Baggage 3D
  • Cargo 2D
  • Cargo and Mail 3D
  • In-Flight Supplies 2D

You can find out more information about screener certification and the DNXCT in CAP1171.

DNXCT test managers

All DNXCT session must take place in person under the invigilation of a DNXCT test manager. Sessions may not be undertaken remotely.

The list of current approved DNXCT test managers

Any tests managers previously approved to deliver the NXCT must re-register in order to invigilate the DNXCT. Full detail are provided in CAP1171.

Registration form for DNXCT test manager (individual)

Registration form for DNXCT test manager (bulk)

For further information on the DNXCT please email the CAA AvSec Training and Human Factors team at Avsec.Training@caa.co.uk