We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional cookies to understand how you use it, and to help us improve it.

For more information, please read our cookie policy.

At 23:00 on 31 December 2020 the UK leaves the European Union aviation system, and as such is no longer part of European Union aviation institutions, including the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA).

Some CAA website pages, publications and application forms will continue to refer to EU law or provide links to EU law websites, including the European Union and EASA. Where references to EU law are made, they now relate to those laws as retained (and amended in UK domestic law) under the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018. There is a rolling programme of updates underway to replace these references.

Please note that EU law no longer applies to the UK, and links to any EU web pages will not be an accurate description of your obligations or rights under UK law.

We have published the law that applies on our UK Civil Aviation Regulations pages

More information from the CAA is available at info.caa.co.uk/euexit/

If you are a previous UK licence holder whose licence was issued before 1 January 2021 or an EU licence holder that would like to convert to a UK Part-FCL licence you can find guidance at Licence issue for previous UK licence holders.