• In 2014 the CAA, in response to events, carried out a review of Offshore Helicopter Operations. The review became known as CAP 1145 considering Passenger Safety and Survivability, Operations, Research and Airworthiness.

    The airworthiness aspects, of the review, made several actions and recommendations to the CAA and external stakeholders. One of those actions, known as A31, said the CAA would establish an Offshore Maintenance Standards Improvement Team with Offshore operator.

    After an initial meeting with offshore operators and wider industry the CAA agreed to expand the Maintenance Standards Improvement Team concept to all sectors of aviation. Since 2014 the CAA has worked with industry to establish 8 working groups, with 54 organisations representing the UK aviation industry. Our working groups are now established in the following areas:

    • Offshore Rotorcraft
    • Onshore Rotorcraft
    • Fixed Wing Maintenance
    • Corporate Aviation
    • Production Prime
    • Production Small and Medium Enterprises
    • CAMO
    • Training 

    The Maintenance Standards Improvement initiative has represented a significant step change, as the CAA and Industry has worked in collaboration to improve safety; specifically industries ability to perform maintenance, manage continued airworthiness, production activities and train to the highest standards.  

    The support of industry in developing the work of the Maintenance Standards Improvement Teams has been significant. Each organisation and its representatives are contributing their time and efforts for the benefits of improving standards and making a step change in safety, a matter that we should all be grateful for.  Through our collaboration we have shared our knowledge of industry strengths and weaknesses and the challenges and opportunities to improve. 

    As part the Maintenance Standards Improvement Groups, various activities are in progress with a view to delivering an output that can be shared for the benefit of others. The first output from the groups is the Competency Assessment Guidance Document.