We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional analytics cookies to help us improve it.
For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK – EU Transition, and UK Civil Aviation Regulations

To access current UK civil aviation regulations, including AMC and GM, CAA regulatory documents, please use this link to UK Regulation. Please note, if you use information and guidance under the Headings, the references to EU regulations or EU websites in our guidance will not be an accurate information or description of your obligations under UK law. These pages are undergoing reviews and updates.

When do you need a rating?

You must have a valid and appropriate class or type rating in order to do any flying other than flight instruction, skill tests or proficiency checks for the renewal of type or class ratings.

This does not apply in the case of the LAPL, SPL or BPL.

Ratings privileges

If you hold a type or class rating, you can act as pilot on the class or type of aircraft specified in the rating. For details of individual ratings, see the specific ratings pages.

Training requirements

You will need to complete a training course at an approved training organisation (ATO). See the individual ratings pages for details of specific training requirements.

Theoretical knowledge examination

Theoretical knowledge examinations must be taken at an ATO. The exams will have a different format depending on the aircraft type the rating is appropriate for:

Aircraft type Exam format
Multi-pilot aircraft Written exams made up of at least 100 multiple-choice questions spread across the main subject areas
Single-pilot, multi-engine aircraft Written exams; the number of multiple-choice questions will depend on the complexity of the aircraft
Single-engine aircraft Verbal exam conducted during the skill test to determine whether or not a satisfactory level of knowledge has been achieved
Single-pilot aeroplanes classed as high performance aeroplanes Written exams made up of at least 100 multiple-choice questions spread across the main subject areas

Theoretical examination crediting

If you hold a type rating for an aircraft type with the privileges for either single-pilot or multi-pilot operations, then you will be fully credited for the theoretical knowledge requirements when you apply to add the privilege for the other form of operation (single- or multi-pilot operations) on the same aircraft type.

Skill test

At the end of your training course, you will need to pass a skill test with a suitably qualified examiner, in the relevant aircraft class or type, to demonstrate that you can competently carry out the procedures and manoeuvres that you have been taught, while acting as pilot in command (PIC).

You must pass the skill test within 6 months of starting your training course. You must also apply for the issue of the rating within 6 months of the completion date of your skill test.

You must have had some flight instruction on the same aircraft type or class, or group of balloons, that you will be taking your skill test on.

Validity period

Class and type ratings are valid for 1 year, counted from the end of the calendar month in which you completed your skill test, with the exception of single-pilot single-engine class ratings which are valid for 2 years, counted from the end of the calendar month in which you completed your skill test.

Renewal of ratings

If your rating expires, you will need to take refresher training as determined by an ATO and pass a proficiency check with a suitably qualified examiner.

Latest from UK Civil Aviation Authority

  1. Shaping up to be a busy 2022 for UK CAA’s General Aviation Unit
  2. CAA launches consultation on environmental effects of first UK space launch from Cornwall
  3. Farnborough 2022: Sir Stephen Hillier - Where next for aviation and aerospace

View all latest news