We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional analytics cookies to help us improve it.
For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK – EU Transition, and UK Civil Aviation Regulations

To access current UK civil aviation regulations, including AMC and GM, CAA regulatory documents, please use this link to UK Regulation. Please note, if you use information and guidance under the Headings below, the references to EU regulations or EU websites in our guidance will not be an accurate information or description of your obligations under UK law. These pages are undergoing reviews and updates.

Specific Airworthiness Specifications (SASs) have been used by EASA during its early inception as a transition measure to allow operation of certain aircraft without a Type Certificate and for those without a Type Certificate Holder.

These aircraft were accepted and allowed to operate under a Restricted Certificates of Airworthiness (RCofA) based on the EASA approved SAS.

The UK left the European Union aviation system on 31 December 2020, and as such is no longer part of European Union aviation institutions, including the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA).

EASA SASs valid up to this date are considered approved by the CAA and have been published as they were released by EASA.

Going forward, the SASs will continue to refer to EU law and carry the EASA logo. Where references to EU law are made, they now relate to those laws as retained (and amended in UK domestic law) under the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018.

Note that the SAS are no longer recognised as approval of the design of an aircraft in the Regulation UK (EU) 2018/1139 (Basic Regulation) and the CAA will not issue new SASs.

All SASs and all RCofA issued based on existing SASs will remain valid.

A list of existing SASs is published on this page.

Provide page feedback

Please enter your comments below, or use our usual service contacts if a specific matter requires an answer.

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.

Latest from UK Civil Aviation Authority

  1. UK Civil Aviation Authority update on ATOL Reform consultation
  2. 2022 quarter one flight data
  3. Continued focus on change for GA Team

View all latest news