We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional cookies to understand how you use it, and to help us improve it.

For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK Civil Aviation Regulations

These are published by the CAA on our UK Regulations pages. EU Regulations and EASA Access Guides published by EASA no longer apply in the UK. Our website and publications are being reviewed to update all references. Any references to EU law and EASA Access guides should be disregarded and where applicable the equivalent UK versions referred to instead.

Part-ML provides a proportionate framework for continuing airworthiness to correspond to the lower risks associated with 'Light Aircraft' in general aviation.

Part-ML sets out requirements to ensure that 'Light Aircraft' remain airworthy and are in a condition for safe operation. It also establishes the responsibilities of persons and organisations involved in activities related to the continuing airworthiness of these aircraft.


Part-ML simplifies existing maintenance rules and offers a less prescriptive and burdensome approach to maintenance programmes, airworthiness reviews, defects deferments and TBO extensions. It also provides more privileges for pilots, owners, independent certifying staff and small maintenance organisations. For example:

  • The Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) will no longer be involved in the approval of maintenance programmes for Light aircraft.
  • A new Airworthiness Review Certificate (ARC) (CAA Form 15c) has been introduced that can be issued by the CAA, by an approved organisation or by independent Part-66 engineers with an appropriate authorisation.
  • CAA Generic Requirements listed in Mandatory Requirements for Airworthiness (CAP747), for example GR No.24 have been revised to remove their applicability to Part-21 Aircraft Types, including those within the scope of Part-ML.

Definition of light aircraft under Part-ML

Light aircraft means the following non-complex motor-powered aircraft not listed in the air operator certificate of an air carrier licensed in accordance with UK Regulation (EC) No 1008/2008:

  • aeroplanes of 2,730 kg maximum take-off mass (MTOM) or less.
  • rotorcraft of 1,200 kg MTOM or less, certified for a maximum of up to 4 occupants.
  • other ELA2 aircraft (for example sailplanes, balloons, small airships).

Independent Certifying Staff

  • Part-ML introduces an independent certifying staff authorisation which allows licenced engineers to carry out the airworthiness review and issue the Airworthiness Review Certificate in conjunction with the annual inspection for light aircraft within the scope of Part-ML.
  • The authorisation is issued after the applicant has carried out a satisfactory Airworthiness Review under supervision by the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA).
  • The authorisation is limited by Part-ML and the scope of aircraft on the applicant’s licence.
  • Existing ELA 1 authorisations are not valid after 24th March 2020 due to the change in regulations.
  • Applications for an independent certifying staff authorisation should made using Form SRG1015 be submitted to apply@caa.co.uk with 'ML.A.901 Authorisation' in the subject line. 

UK Regulation (EU) No 1321/2014

The Regulations page for Regulation, Acceptable Means of Compliance (AMC) and Guidance Material (GM) provides further information.

Close UK Regulation (EU) No 1321/2014

Phased withdrawal of CAA LAMP (CAP 767/766)

Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) Light Aircraft Maintenance Programme (LAMP) cannot be used after 24 March 2021. CAA LAMP has been withdrawn. All aircraft within the scope of Part-ML must transfer to a Part-ML-compliant maintenance programme at the next Airworthiness Review.

Close Phased withdrawal of CAA LAMP (CAP 767/766)

CAP 747 Generic requirements GR no.17 and GR No.24

GR No.17 and GR No.24 have been revised to remove their applicability to aircraft maintained under Part-ML.

Deviations from the Design Approval Holder's Instructions for Continuing Airworthiness (DAH ICA), such as the extension of time between overhaul (TBO) intervals, should be evaluated using a risk-based approach in accordance with ML.A.302.

The risk-based approach should consider aspects such as the operation of aircraft, type of aircraft, hours/years in service, maintenance of the aircraft, compensating measures, redundancy of components, etc.

Alternative tasks or intervals (for example, escalations) to the DAH ICA by the Continuing Airworthiness Management Organisation (CAMO) or Combined Airworthiness Organisation (CAO) do not need to be approved by the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA). Justification of these deviations are to be documented and retained by the CAMO or CAO.

Where an aircraft subject to Part-ML is not used for commercial operations and the owner elects to manage the continuing airworthiness of the aircraft themselves, the owner issues a declaration for the maintenance programme and in this case, no justification of such deviations is required.

Details can be found in Part-ML Paragraph ML.A.302 and AMC1 ML.A.302(c)(3). Owners, operators and approved organisations should ensure they are familiar with the revised regulations as well as the safety implications of any proposed deviations from the DAH ICA.

It is important to note that deviations with respect to tasks classified as mandatory (for example, Airworthiness Directives, requirements specified on the type certificate data sheet, airworthiness limitations) are not permitted.

Close CAP 747 Generic requirements GR no.17 and GR No.24