• Introduction

    In March 2020, changes to EASA regulations will separate the existing continuing airworthiness requirements for 'Light Aircraft' from the requirements applicable for licensed air carriers and other complex motor-powered aircraft.

    We are developing these webpages over the coming months to help organisations and personnel involved in Light Aircraft to transition to the new requirements. Other regulatory changes (e.g. Part-CAMO, Part-T) are dealt with in other areas of the CAA website.

    Although the regulation will become applicable from 24 March 2020, there is an amendment due soon which changes the transition arrangements. So these web pages will be updated when transition arrangements and amended guidance are available.

    A complete guide to the transition to the new requirements for organisations is available from EASA


    Part-ML simplifies existing maintenance rules and offers a less prescriptive and burdensome approach to maintenance programmes, airworthiness reviews, defects deferments and TBO extensions. It also provides more privileges for pilots, owners, independent certifying staff and small maintenance organisations. For example:

    • Existing Part M Subpart F and Subpart G approvals will gradually be replaced with a new Combined Airworthiness Organisation approval, Part-CAO (pronounced “cow”)
    • The CAA will no longer be involved in the approval of maintenance programmes for Light aircraft.  
    • A new Airworthiness Review Certificate (EASA Form 15c) will be introduced that can be issued by the CAA, by an approved organisation or by independent Part-66 engineers with an appropriate authorisation.
    • CAA Generic Requirements (e.g. GR No.24) will be revised to remove their applicability to aircraft maintained under Part-ML


    Transition guidance to a Part-CAO Approval will be added to as soon as it is available.

    Updated information

    More information will be published as soon as it is available. This will include sections on: 

    • Part-CAO application
    • Maintenance programmes
    • ARC recommendation
    • Permit to Fly
    • Independent certifying staff

    Please subscribe to our SkyWise alerting system so we can let you know when new information has been added. 

    'Light aircraft'

    'Light aircraft' means the following non-complex motor-powered aircraft not listed in the air operator certificate of an air carrier licensed in accordance with Regulation (EC) No 1008/2008:

    1. aeroplanes of 2,730 kg maximum take-off mass (MTOM) or less;
    2. rotorcraft of 1,200 kg MTOM or less, certified for a maximum of up to 4 occupants;
    3. other ELA2 aircraft (e.g. sailplanes, balloons, small airships).