We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional cookies to understand how you use it, and to help us improve it.

For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK Civil Aviation Regulations

These are published by the CAA on our UK Regulations pages. EU Regulations and EASA Access Guides published by EASA no longer apply in the UK. Our website and publications are being reviewed to update all references. Any references to EU law and EASA Access guides should be disregarded and where applicable the equivalent UK versions referred to instead.

We have long recognised the importance of continuous training and skills development for private pilots, as a means to ever improve the safety standards of recreational flying. For this reason, the CAA has introduced the Pilot Recognition for Operational Up-skilling and Development (PROUD) scheme.

PROUD works with organisations and associations representing private pilots, to develop structured training programmes. These courses allow ‘PPLs’ and ‘NPPLs’, old and new, to develop skills and acquire knowledge, thereby producing better individual pilots and improving safety levels across the board.

Other training could involve obtaining more ratings, attending safety events or even taking part in an air race. Whatever the activity, the CAA strongly recommends that private pilots, particularly those recently qualified, invest some time in further training and skills development. It will ultimately make you a better and safer pilot.

Our PROUD framework

‘Proud to develop piloting skills’ - an initiative supported by the CAA

Schemes should have a logical hierarchical progression through clearly defined steps, which if completed, would lead to a formal recognition within the scheme of the achievement at that level. The scheme should include a minimum of three levels. Within each level of the scheme, there should be requirements to fulfil targets in each of the following areas.

Flying experience

Flying experience is essential. So, the number of hours required for qualification at each level, should be set at levels appropriate for the award, taking into account minimum total flight time, and hours acting as aircraft commander.

Ratings and qualifications

Just flying more hours doesn’t necessarily mean you have a greater depth of knowledge or breadth of experience. So, the scheme should require additional training or achievements leading to the addition of ratings or certificates.

To qualify for each level of award there could be a requirement to add a further two flying achievements. The list below is not exhaustive but gives examples of the scope for pilots to select a combination of achievements that suit their personal choices:

  • IMC rating
  • Night rating
  • Instrument rating
  • Flight instructor rating
  • Multi engine rating
  • Seaplane rating

Differences training

Training that doesn't lead to a specific rating should also be considered.

This could include differences training such as:

  • Tailwheel conversion
  • Variable pitch propeller
  • Glass cockpit training.


There are also many organised flying activities that encourage pilots to challenge themselves, such as:

  • Compete in a Royal Institute of Navigation challenge
  • Compete in a Royal Aero Club air race
  • Complete a British Aerobatics Association competition

Classroom Based Learning

Creation of classroom-based learning can also be very supportive in the development of knowledge, and on-the-ground training can lead to further in-flight lessons where the new learning can then be put into practice. Such class-room based training could include lessons/ revision on:

  • Keeping up to date with regulatory changes
  • Infringements and best practice to avoid them
  • Air Law
  • Aircraft technical appreciation
  • Navigation
  • Radiotelephony and ATC
  • Threat and Error Management
  • Equipment familiarisation e.g. using a Moving Map and how to set it up correctly
  • Advanced Meteorology

Safety event attendance

At least one seminar should be attended to qualify at the lower entry level, two attendances at an intermediate level, and three or more for the advanced level.

Available safety events may include:

  • GASCo safety evening
  • Military civil air safety days
  • Aircraft maintenance engineering course
  • Flight instructor seminars
  • PPL master classes

Extended navigational challenges

Many pilots never venture out of their local area, which is both limiting in terms of enjoyment and fulfilment, but also stifles development and confidence. The schemes should therefore include an element of longer navigational flights, which would be increasingly more demanding.


For further guidance on your application we have outlined an example below. This may only be suitable for some operators and should only be taken as high level guidance. Each organisation’s Scheme will differ. Please be reminded that the application should be supported by the appropriate evidence of the Scheme.
An example basic profile is:

To gain an award at a lower level, pilots would have to complete a cross country flight more challenging in terms of distance or navigation skills required than the navigational exercise undertaken for the initial issue of the pilot licence. Flights should include landings and take-offs from at least two airfields en-route. The route could also include a sea crossing of more than 20 nm.

For a higher level, a more challenging cross-country flight should be accomplished, perhaps with at least three intermediate landings and take offs. If desired, elements of the route may include a sea crossing of more than 20 nm.

For the highest award, the participant should have completed the flights for the lower awards, and subsequently completed a much more demanding cross country with at least four intermediate landings. If desired, elements of the route may comprise of a sea crossing of more than 20 nm.

Tier Name Minimum Hour Requirement Minimum Flying Experience Minimum Activities completed Minimum Ratings/ Qualifications achieved
  • 150NM cross country flight
  • 2 different types flown
  • GASCO Safety Evening
  • Class room training on infringements
  • Completed Equipment Familiarisation training
  • Night Rating
  • SEP
  • Different Aircraft Type
  • 200NM Cross Country
  • Cross Channel Flight
  • Mountain Flying
  • 5 different types flown
  • 10 Different Airfields
  • Compete in a Royal Institute of Navigation challenge
  • PPL Master Class
  • Class room training on aircraft technical
  • Tailwheel
  • IMC/IR(R)
  • Seaplane Rating
  • SET
  • TMG
  • SLMG
Must have at least 2 in this category
GOLD 300
  • Aerobatics Training
  • 500NM Cross Country
  • International Flight
  • Strip Flying
  • 10 Different types flown
  • 20 different airfields
  • Complete a British Aerobatics Association competition
  • Compete in a Royal Aero Club air race
  • Safety Day
  • Airworthiness appreciation
  • Glass cockpit
  • Variable Pitch Propeller
  • Multi Engine Rating
  • Instrument Rating
  • Microlight
  • Instructor Rating
Must have at least 3 in this category

How to apply for endorsement

If you wish to create a developmental scheme to be endorsed under our PROUD framework, you can apply for free. Please complete application SRG1332 with your proposals, demonstrating how your programme satisfies the suggested framework, and submit it to GA@CAA.co.uk.

If we think it fulfils the criteria, then we’ll grant you an endorsement (which will include a CAA PROUD logo) which you can then use when you publicise the scheme.

Validity and how to re-apply for endorsement

PROUD endorsements are valid for 3 years. If you wish to re-apply, then please submit an updated proposal to GA@CAA.co.uk.