We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional cookies to understand how you use it, and to help us improve it.

For more information, please read our cookie policy.

The light aircraft pilot licence (LAPL) is a Part-FCL licence and is available for:

  • Aeroplanes
  • Sailplanes
  • Helicopters

All of the information in the section Part-FCL requirements will apply to the LAPL, so you may want to familiarise yourself with this section first.

For each LAPL there are a number of common requirements for any LAPL, and also some more specific requirements depending on which LAPL you are applying for, which can be found on the relevant page for each licence.

News from UK Civil Aviation Authority

  1. Regulator signs working arrangement with Japan
  2. Plans to upgrade airspace unveiled by UK regulator
  3. Regulator Board hosted a stakeholder meet-and-greet at Farnborough Airshow