We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional cookies to understand how you use it, and to help us improve it.

For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK Civil Aviation Regulations

These are published by the CAA on our UK Regulations pages. EU Regulations and EASA Access Guides published by EASA no longer apply in the UK. Our website and publications are being reviewed to update all references. Any references to EU law and EASA Access guides should be disregarded and where applicable the equivalent UK versions referred to instead.

These lists provide a consolidated overview of established type rating designations and associated licence endorsements.

The type rating and licence endorsement lists do not include information for all aircraft. In particular, aircraft may not be included if they are part of a class rating single-engine piston (SEP) (land/sea), multi-engine piston (MEP) (land/sea), touring motor glider (TMG), or not subject to an OSD evaluation in accordance with Part-21.

The lists also indicate whether aircraft:

  • are defined as complex aircraft in accordance with the UK Basic Regulation and if they are classified as (single-pilot) high-performance aircraft (HPA) in accordance with Part-FCL.

  • have been classified as variants.
    Flight crew type rating and variant designations are established by the UK through the OSD flight crew evaluation process and are only valid for the evaluated aircraft make and model.

UK type and class ratings for aeroplanes and helicopters