We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional analytics cookies to help us improve it.
For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK – EU Transition, and UK Civil Aviation Regulations

To access current UK civil aviation regulations, including AMC and GM, CAA regulatory documents, please use this link to UK Regulation. Please note, if you use information and guidance under the Headings below, the references to EU regulations or EU websites in our guidance will not be an accurate information or description of your obligations under UK law. These pages are undergoing reviews and updates.

The Department for Transport and CAA are co-sponsors of airspace modernisation. In 2018, we commissioned NATS (En Route) plc (NERL) to create an airspace change masterplan. NERL was required to set up a separate and impartial unit to develop the masterplan (as required by condition 10a of NERL’s Air Traffic Services Licence, CAP 2111).

NERL has set up Airspace Change Organising Group (ACOG) to undertake impartial and objective coordination to prepare the masterplan – a single coordinated implementation plan for airspace changes in the UK to cover the period to 2040. It will identify which UK airspace design changes need to be developed in coordination to achieve the range of benefits that modernisation can deliver, and when.

The purpose of assessing the masterplan (or assessing work in progress towards the masterplan) is to give the co-sponsors confidence that the masterplan commission is being delivered. Based on that assessment, and before the masterplan can be implemented, the CAA must decide whether to formally accept the masterplan into its Airspace Modernisation Strategy (AMS), having consulted the Secretary of State. Please note that this strategy is being refreshed and CAA is currently analysing responses to the consultation on a new draft strategy.

The current (June 2022) airport participants in the programme being coordinated by ACOG, are:

Map of United Kingdom with markers for airports participating in the programme which are listed below this image in bullet points broken down by region


  • Biggin Hill
  • Bournemouth
  • Heathrow
  • Gatwick
  • London City
  • Luton
  • Manston
  • RAF Northolt
  • Southampton
  • Southend
  • Stansted


  • Bristol
  • Cardiff
  • Exeter


  • East Midlands
  • Leeds/Bradford
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester


  • Aberdeen
  • Edinburgh
  • Glasgow

Provide page feedback

Please enter your comments below, or use our usual service contacts if a specific matter requires an answer.

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.