We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional cookies to understand how you use it, and to help us improve it.

For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK Civil Aviation Regulations

These are published by the CAA on our UK Regulations pages. EU Regulations and EASA Access Guides published by EASA no longer apply in the UK. Our website and publications are being reviewed to update all references. Any references to EU law and EASA Access guides should be disregarded and where applicable the equivalent UK versions referred to instead.

Who does what when there is ash in UK airspace?

The Met Office

Forecasters monitor volcanic eruptions as part of the Met Office’s role in the global network of nine Volcanic Ash Advisory Centres (VAAC). Forecasts are provided every six hours giving an 18-hour prediction of where the volcanic ash cloud is and where the different density levels of volcanic ash lie.


The Met Office forecast is used to produce a Notice to Airmen (NOTAM) that advises pilots of flight safety information. The CAA produces a NOTAM every six hours to inform airlines and airports where ash is forecast to be and to what level of density.


The main provider of air traffic control services to aircraft flying in UK airspace, and over the eastern part of the North Atlantic. If an aircraft under NATS’ control is approaching an area of notified ash the air traffic controller will alert the cockpit crew.

The Department for Transport (DfT)

The DfT is the UK Government department responsible for the UK’s transport network, including aviation.


Airlines have the responsibility to ensure their flights can operate safely. They can work with their aircraft and engine manufacturers and their regulator to put together a safety case to fly in different density levels of ash.

Other UK organisations with an interest

The British Geological Survey

More information about Eyjafjallajokull can be found on their website.

International organisations

The International Civil Aviation Authority (ICAO)

A specialised agency of the United Nations, ICAO was created in 1944 to promote the safe and orderly development of international civil aviation throughout the world. It sets standards and regulations necessary for aviation safety, security, efficiency and regularity, as well as for aviation environmental protection. The Organization serves as the forum for cooperation in all fields of civil aviation among its 190 Member States.


An intergovernmental organisation made up of 39 Member States and the European Community. Founded in 1960, it is a civil-military organisation that develops European air traffic control and airspace regulations and procedures.

European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)

The EC body responsible for European civil aviation regulations and also for certifying airframes and engines. It promotes the highest common standards of safety and environmental protection in civil aviation both in Europe and worldwide.