We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional analytics cookies to help us improve it.
For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK – EU Transition, and UK Civil Aviation Regulations

To access current UK civil aviation regulations, including AMC and GM, CAA regulatory documents, please use this link to UK Regulation. Please note, if you use information and guidance under the Headings below, the references to EU regulations or EU websites in our guidance will not be an accurate information or description of your obligations under UK law. These pages are undergoing reviews and updates.

The Department for Transport (DfT) will be making additional funding available to encourage the UK's General Aviation (GA) and Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) communities to adopt electronic conspicuity devices, it has been announced. The decision will see a rebate scheme run by the UK Civil Aviation Authority (CAA), in operation since October last year, extended until 30 September 2021.

The CAA will continue to distribute the funds via a rebate scheme which is open to applications for devices purchased up to September 2021(or until the funding is used). Those meeting the requirements can claim a 50% rebate of the purchase cost of an EC device to a maximum of £250 (including VAT) per applicant. The funding is for carry-on or aircraft-fitted devices only - ground system components do not qualify for the scheme.

Aviation Minster, Robert Courts said: “It's great that we've been able to extend the highly successful Electronic Conspicuity Rebate scheme beyond spring and into the summer - taking an important step forward to increase pilot safety.”

Applicants must have one of the following UK issued pilot licences (UK or EASA part FCL):

  • Private Pilot's Licence (PPL)
  • Commercial Pilot's Licence (CPL)
  • National PPL (NPPL)
  • Sailplane Pilot's Licence (SPL)
  • Balloon Pilot's Licence (BPL)
  • Light Aircraft Pilot's Licence (LAPL)

Registered members of the British Gliding Association (BGA) and members of the British Hang Gliding and Paragliding Association (BHPA) holding a current 'Pilot' rating can apply.

UAS/UAV operators are also eligible but must hold an authorisation issued specifically to them by the CAA (i.e. a permission, exemption or “operational authorisation”). General Exemptions, permissions or authorisations which are aimed at a wider and non-specific group of operators are not included

Full details on those eligible to apply, EC devices and how to claim a rebate are available on the CAA website at www.caa.co.uk/ec

Provide page feedback

Please enter your comments below, or use our usual service contacts if a specific matter requires an answer.

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.

Latest from UK Civil Aviation Authority

  1. UK Civil Aviation Authority update on ATOL Reform consultation
  2. 2022 quarter one flight data
  3. Continued focus on change for GA Team

View all latest news