We use necessary cookies to make our website work. We'd also like to use optional analytics cookies to help us improve it.
For more information, please read our cookie policy.

UK-EU Transition

References to EU regulation or EU websites in our guidance will not be an accurate description of your obligations or rights under UK law.

The purpose of the PIR is for the CAA, as the independent regulator, to assess whether the change has delivered the anticipated impacts and benefits set out in the original airspace change proposal and decision, and if not to ascertain why and determine the most appropriate course of action.

Last Updated: 07 December 2020

Letter sent to NIAL 22 Aug 2019
On 28 Oct 19 the CAA received a request from Newcastle International Airport Ltd (NIAL) seeking an extension to the deadline for their PIR Submission, until 13 Dec 19. The CAA has approved the requested extension in order to allow NIAL the time to ensure that the data in their submission is complete. 31 Oct 2019
PIR data received from the change sponsor Dec 2019 - Aug 2020
Introduction  

Stakeholder feedback

Alternative route presentation:

Community noise monitoring reports:

Complaints

Traffic dispersion

Updated traffic dispersion

Operational feedback
Safety data
FMS Explanation
Route Deviation Explanation
Utilisation (v2)

Traffic figures

Corrections to previous data

Following a request for Newcastle Airport to provide additional data in support of the ongoing PIR, the opportunity for stakeholders to provide feedback on this new data has been opened until 18 March 2020.

Stakeholders submit these by email to airspace.policy@caa.co.uk

18 Feb 2020

Following the receipt of the PIR data from the change sponsor, stakeholders have until 0900 27 January 2020 to submit any evidence or views on the data that they want the CAA to take into account as we carry out the PIR.

Submissions are limited to one per individual (verified by email address). We give no assurance that we will take account of submissions made outside the feedback window.

13 Dec 2019
The feedback window for this PIR has now closed. 20 Mar 2020

Following the publication of updated data and corrections to previous data a new opportunity for feedback has been opened. Stakeholders have until 0900 4 September 2020 to submit any evidence or views on the updated data and corrections that they want the CAA to take into account.

Stakeholders submit these by email to airspace.policy@caa.co.uk
Submissions are limited to one per individual (verified by email address). We give no assurance that we will take account of submissions made outside the feedback window.

07 Aug 2020

Post implementation review conclusion

The CAA has completed the Post Implementation Review (PIR). The CAA concludes that the SIDs at NIAL are performing satisfactorily and achieve the intent of the ACP as submitted to the CAA in April 2014. The data provided shows that they provide a safe method for suitably equipped aircraft to depart from NIAL. The majority of aircraft, presented in the data, flew the SIDs within acceptable tolerances; however, there are examples in the data where an aircraft does not fly a SID as expected in that they are beyond acceptable tolerances. These are mostly Dash 8 aircraft flying the GIRLI 3X SID.

We therefore recommend that NIAL should brief Dash 8 operators, that fly the GIRLI 3X SID, to avoid overflight of Heddon-on-the Wall.

Upon publication of the PIR report (CAP1984), the process in respect of this change is concluded and the change is confirmed.

Publication of our report

Latest from UK Civil Aviation Authority

  1. Consumers urged to check for financial protection as holiday bookings set to rise
  2. UK Civil Aviation Authority set to create new Environmental Sustainability Panel
  3. Website changes

View all latest news