• Under EU law, you have significant rights on many flights to, from or within the European Union. However, because the rules cover all EU countries plus a few others, it’s sometimes difficult to be certain when they apply.

    This page explains how to determine if EU law applies to your flight.

    Is my flight covered?

    • Does your flight depart from one of the countries in the list below?
      then yes it is covered by the rules, regardless of which airline operates it.
    • Will your flight arrive in one of the countries in the list below, with an airline based in one of these countries?
      then yes it is covered by the rules.

    If your flight does not fit into either of these categories then it is not covered by EU rules.

    Countries where the rules apply

    EU laws on flight disruptions cover all EU countries, plus some others.

    Where we refer to ‘EU airports’ and ‘EU airlines’ on this website, we mean airports in and airlines based in any of these countries:

    EU Countries

    • Austria
    • Belgium
    • Bulgaria
    • Croatia
    • Cyprus
    • Czech Republic
    • Denmark
    • Estonia
    • Finland
    • France
    • Germany
    • Greece
    • Hungary
    • Ireland
    • Italy
    • Latvia
    • Lithuania
    • Luxembourg
    • Malta
    • The Netherlands
    • Poland
    • Portugal
    • Romania
    • Slovakia
    • Slovenia
    • Spain
    • Sweden
    • United Kingdom

    Other countries

    Although these countries are not in the EU, the rules still apply to them:

    • Iceland
    • Norway
    • Switzerland

    Your rights

    Learn more about your rights when flying to and from airports in these countries.