• The purpose of the PIR is for the CAA, as the independent regulator, to assess whether the change has delivered the anticipated impacts and benefits set out in the original airspace change proposal and decision, and if not to ascertain why and determine the most appropriate course of action.

    Last Updated: 07 December 2020


     Letter sent to NIAL 22 Aug 2019 
    On 28 Oct 19 the CAA received a request from Newcastle International Airport Ltd (NIAL) seeking an extension to the deadline for their PIR Submission, until 13 Dec 19. The CAA has approved the requested extension in order to allow NIAL the time to ensure that the data in their submission is complete.
    31 Oct 2019
     PIR data received from the change sponsor Dec 2019 - Aug 2020
     Introduction  


                     

     Stakeholder feedback

    Alternative route presentation: 

     Community noise monitoring reports:

     Complaints

      Traffic dispersion

      Updated traffic dispersion

     Operational feedback 
     Safety data
     FMS Explanation
     Route Deviation Explanation
     Utilisation (v2)

     Traffic figures

      Corrections to previous data

    Following a request for Newcastle Airport to provide additional data in support of the ongoing PIR, the opportunity for stakeholders to provide feedback on this new data has been opened until 18 March 2020.

    Stakeholders submit these by email to airspace.policy@caa.co.uk

    18 Feb 2020

    Following the receipt of the PIR data from the change sponsor, stakeholders have until 0900 27 January 2020 to submit any evidence or views on the data that they want the CAA to take into account as we carry out the PIR.

    Submissions are limited to one per individual (verified by email address). We give no assurance that we will take account of submissions made outside the feedback window.

    13 Dec 2019 
    The feedback window for this PIR has now closed. 20 Mar 2020

    Following the publication of updated data and corrections toprevious data a new opportunity for feedback has been opened. Stakeholders have until 0900 4 September 2020 to submit any evidence or views on the updated data and corrections that they want the CAA to take into account.

    Stakeholders submit these by email to airspace.policy@caa.co.uk
    Submissions are limited to one per individual (verified by email address). We give no assurance that we will take account of submissions made outside the feedback window.

    07 Aug 2020 


    Post implementation review conclusion

    The CAA has completed the Post Implementation Review (PIR). The CAA concludes that the SIDs at NIAL are performing satisfactorily and achieve the intent of the ACP as submitted to the CAA in April 2014. The data provided shows that they provide a safe method for suitably equipped aircraft to depart from NIAL. The majority of aircraft, presented in the data, flew the SIDs within acceptable tolerances; however, there are examples in the data where an aircraft does not fly a SID as expected in that they are beyond acceptable tolerances. These are mostly Dash 8 aircraft flying the GIRLI 3X SID. 

    We therefore recommend that NIAL should brief Dash 8 operators, that fly the GIRLI 3X SID, to avoid overflight of Heddon-on-the Wall.

    Upon publication of the PIR report (CAP1984), the process in respect of this change is concluded and the change is confirmed.

    Publication of our report