• EASA Air Operations Regulation (EU) No 965/2012 Part-NCC applies to non-commercial flights in complex motor-powered aircraft. 

    Part-NCC requires each operator to adhere to the same essential requirements as commercial air transport operators but the rules are proportionate - instead of holding an AOC, operators must submit a declaration to us about their operation. Failure to make such a declaration may affect an operator's insurance cover.

    The declaration will help us to establish and maintain the required oversight programme for Part-NCC aircraft. The programme will be developed based on the nature and complexity of each operation using available data, including that from past oversight activities. 

  • Who is affected by the UK application of Part-NCC

    Operators of complex motor-powered aircraft flying non-commercial flights:

    • with an aircraft which is registered in the UK, wherever the operator is established or residing; or
    • with an aircraft which is registered in a State other than the UK but where the operator is established or residing in the UK.
  • Complex motor-powered aircraft means:

    • an aeroplane:
      • with a maximum certificated take-off mass exceeding 5700 kg, or
      • certificated for a maximum passenger seating configuration of more than nineteen, or
      • certificated for operation with a minimum crew of at least two pilots, or
      • equipped with (a) turbojet engine(s) or more than one turboprop engine, or
    • a helicopter certificated:
      • for a maximum take-off mass exceeding 3175 kg, or
      • for a maximum passenger seating configuration of more than nine, or
      • for operation with a minimum crew of at least two pilots, or
    • a tilt rotor aircraft  

    Operators of complex motor-powered aeroplanes with a MCTOM of 5700 kg or below and equipped with turboprop engines, involved in non-commercial operations (other than any Specialised Operations) can operate in accordance with Part-NCO instead of Part-NCC. This also means that operators of this type of aircraft do not have to comply with Part-ORO (Organisation Requirements).  

  • What is required from operators?

    Operators will need to be familiar with the EASA Basic Regulation and the Air Operations Regulation. They will also need to comply with the detailed implementing rules in Annex III (Part-ORO Organisation Requirements) and Annex VI (Part-NCC) and Part-FCL. If an operator needs specific approvals, for example, covering low visibility operations, performance based navigation or dangerous goods; they will need to comply with elements of Annex V (Part-SPA).

    Affected operators need to understand the rules and ensure they are in compliance.

    Operators must

    Have an operations manual.
    Have a management system.
    Have an approved minimum equipment list (MEL) for each aircraft.
    Complete and submit a declaration to us which details their aircraft type, their operational and continuing airworthiness arrangements, any approvals held etc.
    Ensure that the pilot(s) flying the aircraft hold(s) a Part-FCL licence or a validation issued under Annex III to Part-FCL.

    Once compliant, affected operators must make a declaration to us (in accordance with Part-ORO).

    How do you make a declaration to the CAA?

    What support is available to operators?

    There are a number of business aircraft management partners for non commercial aircraft services and trade associations who offer support to owners/operators having to comply with the requirements of Part-NCC. These types of organisations may be able to provide advice and guidance to operators, for example, on developing operations manuals.

    See useful links below for more information.