The Airports Act 1986

On this page you will find information about the Airports Act 1986.

The Airports Act 1986/Airport regulation under the Civil Aviation Act 2012

The CAA's economic regulation powers for the non-designated airports in England, Scotland and Wales under part 4 of the Airports Act and for the non-designated airports under the Airports (Northern Ireland) Order 1994 ceased from 1 April 2014. The CAA now licences Heathrow and Gatwick airports using its powers under the Civil Aviation Act 2012

This page contains documents relating to the CAA's regulation of airports under both Acts.

Operational resilience at Heathrow and Gatwick airports

Heathrow Q6 trigger definition sheets

Preparing for a more competitive airports sector

Introductory documents

  • Competition Guidelines

  • Alternative approaches to regulation

    Alternative approaches to price cap regulation to minimise distortions to competition and investment incentives - a report by Europe Economics (July 2010) - (Executive Summary)

    European regulation 1107/2006 concerning the rights of disabled persons and persons with reduced mobility (PRMs) when travelling by air

    Drafting airport licences - Request for advice by the Secretary of State under s16, Civil Aviation Act 1982

    Introductory seminar - 1 March 2010

    First drafts of licence conditions - 31 March 2010

    Second seminar - 12 April 2010

    Government review of the economic regulation of UK airports

    Competition Commission's market investigation into BAA Ltd - CAA submissions

    Price control

    In 2004 and 2005, the CAA reviewed the processes by which it carries out its price reviews of airports. The review looked back at the 2003 airport price cap reviews and set out how the CAA believed that airport regulation should develop in the run-up to the next reviews.

    More information on the price control is available on the Quinquennial Reviews of Designated Airports page.

    Service quality at Heathrow, Gatwick and Stansted

    Capital expenditure triggers at Heathrow and Gatwick - Q4 and Q5

    The following documents are also available:

    London Airports (Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted)