Is your flight covered by EU rules?

EU law gives you significant rights if an airline delays or cancels your flight, or if something else goes wrong. See if your flight is covered

Under EU law, you have significant rights on many flights to, from or within the European Union. However, because the rules cover all EU countries plus a few others, it’s sometimes difficult to be certain when they apply.

This page explains how to determine if EU law applies to your flight.

Your flight and airline details

  • If your flight is departing from one of the countries listed below,
    then it is covered by the rules, regardless of which airline operates it.

  • If your flight is arriving in one of the countries listed below,
    but departing from elsewhere, it is covered by the rules as long as the airline is based in one of these countries.

If your flight does not fit into either of these categories then it is not covered by EU rules.

Countries where the rules apply

EU laws on flight disruptions cover all EU countries, plus some others.

Where we refer to ‘EU airports’ and ‘EU airlines’ on this website, we mean airports in and airlines based in any of these countries:

EU Countries

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom

Other countries

Although these countries are not in the EU, the rules still apply to them.

  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Switzerland 

Your rights

Learn more about your rights when flying to and from airports in these countries.