CAA Board and Staff

The Board and Staff of the Civil Aviation Authority

CAA Board

Dame Deirdre Hutton (Chair)

Dame Deirdre Hutton, DBE became Chair of the Civil Aviation Authority on the 1st August 2009 and was previously Chair of the Food Standards Agency until July 2009. She has served on a number of public bodies and has considerable experience of corporate governance, risk-based regulation and consumer policy. 

She is Honorary Vice President of the Trading Standards Institute.  She sits as a Non-Executive on the board of Thames Water Utilities Ltd and Castle Trust and is also Pro-Chancellor of Cranfield University.

She was, until June 2008, the Vice-Chair of the European Food Safety Authority Management Board and was Deputy Chair of the Financial Services Authority until December 2007.  For five years, until 2005, she was Chair of the National Consumer Council, having formerly chaired the Scottish Consumer Council.  Prior to her appointment at the Food Standards Agency, she was a member of the Better Regulation Task Force.

She has held a number of positions on bodies dealing with food issues, including Chair of the Foresight Panel on the Food Chain and Crops for Industry, Chair of the Food Chain Centre, and membership of the Policy Commission on the Future of Farming and Food (the Curry Commission).

In April 2010 she was awarded a Fellowship of City and Guilds.

Read the letter from the Secretary of State for Transport to Dame Deirdre stating the CAA's priorities

Andrew Haines

Appointed as a Board Member and Chief Executive in August 2009 and for a further 5 years in August 2012.   Andrew joined the CAA after a wide-ranging career in the rail industry including operational management and leadership, parliamentary liaison, policy development, project management and contract negotiation, Managing Director of South West Trains, and as Managing Director of the Rail Division for First Group plc, which, under his leadership, became Britain’s largest and most profitable train operating business.

He is also a Non-Executive Director of European Rail Finance (GB) Ltd.


Mark Swan

Mark Swan

Mark Swan was appointed as Board Member and Director Airspace Policy in March 2009 and, following the merger of the airspace and safety functions, became Director of the Safety and Airspace Regulation Group in July 2013. He previously held numerous appointments in the Royal Air Force since joining as a pilot in 1979, Formerly Director Operational Capability, Ministry of Defence, 2006 – 08.  IoD accredited Chartered Director.


Chris Jesnick 


Chris Jesnick is the Finance & Corporate Services Director. A Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants, Miss Jesnick has worked for the CAA since 1996 with previous career being in a variety of financial roles in the private sector..

Iain Osborne

Iain Osborne took up his post as Group Director Regulatory Policy in January 2011, replacing Dr Harry Bush's position of Group Director, Economic Regulation. The Group he leads brings together the CAA’s previously separate work on economic regulation and consumer policy, responding to Government proposals for legislation to place the passenger interest at the heart of economic regulation. Mr Osborne has previously held senior roles within the telecoms industry, OFGEM and at the European Commission. His immediate previous role was as CEO of the Northern Ireland Authority for Utility Regulation.

Richard Jackson

Richard Jackson was appointed as Board member and Group Director, Consumer Protection in October 2004. Trustee of the Air Travel Trust. Formerly Head of Investment Banking at Daiwa SBCM Europe.

Michael Medlicott

Appointed as a Non-Executive Member of the Board in February 2010 and is a member of the CAA Remuneration Committee and a Non-Executive Director on the Board of CAA International Limited. He also serves as a member of the CAA Audit Committee and is Chairman of the Air Travel Trust Fund.  He has many years’ experience of the transport and tourism sectors, including a senior management position at Delta Airlines and Chief Executive of the British Tourist Authority. He sat on the Board of Manchester Airports Group from 2002 until joining the Board of the CAA. He is Senior Non-Executive Director of OCS Group Ltd, and Chairman of Myriad Healthcare Group.

David King


Appointed to the Board as a Non-Executive Member on 1 September 2013.  He also serves as Chairman of the Board Safety Review Committee for Cathay Pacific Airways and is a visiting Professor at Cranfield University.  Mr King was formerly the Chief Inspector of the UK Air Accidents Investigation Branch (AAIB) where he was responsible for hundreds of investigations, many involving large public transport aircraft. 

Graham Ward CBE

 Photograph of Graham Ward

Appointed to the Board as a Non-Executive Member on 1 September 2013. He also serves as Chairman of the Audit Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee. He is Chief Commissioner of the Independent Commission for Aid Impact, Vice Chair of the World Energy Council and a Governor of Dulwich College and of Goodenough College. He spent 36 years, including 24 as a partner, with PricewaterhouseCoopers and is a former: Deputy Chairman of the Financial Reporting Council, President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and President of the International Federation of Accountants.

David Gray


David Gray was appointed as a Non-Executive Member of the Board in November 2009.  From 2003 – 2007 he was a member of the Gas & Electricity Markets Authority and Managing Director, Networks of its executive arm, Ofgem.  He is a non-executive director of Pitkin Petroleum, an oil exploration company operating in South East Asia and South America, a member of the Council of Management of the Regulatory Policy Institute, and a governor of Central School of Ballet.

Air Vice-Marshal Edward Stringer


AVM Stringer was appointed as a Non-Executive Member of the Board in April 2013.  As Assistant Chief of the Air Staff, AVM Stringer is a member of the Air Force Board and is the policy and strategy lead for the Royal Air Force within the MOD.  His breadth of responsibility includes: the development of policy for the UK Military Low Flying System, the development of MOD policy for the continued use of Joint and Integrated UK Airspace and also the Release to Service Authority for dealing with specific aspects of airworthiness for UK Military aircraft. 

Kate Staples


Kate Staples joined the CAA as Secretary and Legal Adviser on 1 September 2010. Prior to joining the CAA she was a member of the Government Legal Service, working as a member of the legal team at the Department for Transport, where she advised on aviation law and lead the aviation legal team (2003 to 2009) and railways infrastructure law (2009 to 2010).  Before joining the Government Legal Service Kate practised at Nabarro Nathanson and CMS Cameron McKenna.

Peter Drissell


Peter Drissell was appointed as the Civil Aviation Authority’s first Director of Aviation Security in May 2013. Peter led the transfer of the Aviation Security Regulation function from the Department for Transport to the CAA, which took place on 1st April 2014.  Immediately prior to joining the CAA, Peter served for five years as the Director of Security & Business Continuity for the Home Office.  Before joining the Home Office, Peter had served for 32 years in the Royal Air Force from which he retired as an Air Commodore in April 2007.


Related Information