• The purpose of the PIR is for the CAA, as the independent regulator, to assess whether the change has delivered the anticipated impacts and benefits set out in the original airspace change proposal and decision, and if not to ascertain why and determine the most appropriate course of action.

    Last updated: 28 March 2018

    PIR due date

    4 Feb 2017 

    Details of the PIR submission requirements.

    Scope and objectives of the review determined and our confirmation of the data requirements issued to the organisation that requested the change. 

    23 May 2016 
    London City Airport will be collating feedback on the changes to the replicated departure and arrival procedures flightpaths which were proposed in the LAMP Phase 1A Module B change proposal. Comments on the replicated departure and arrival procedures should be sent to London City airport at: environment@londoncityairport.com.
    24 Jun 2016 

    PIR initiation date

      2 Jun 2017
      Data received from sponsor  2 Jun 2017

      The CAA is aiming to complete the PIR of Modules A, D and B by Christmas 2017 and will publish the results when that work is complete.  Thereafter, the CAA will complete the PIR of Modules C and E, after which we will publish the final outcome when that work is complete.

      16 Oct 2017 
      While the LAMP Phase 1 A PIR is ongoing, the CAA has discovered a technical issue which requires further investigation with the relevant change sponsor. The publication of the final CAA analysis report for Modules A, B and D will therefore be delayed. At this stage, we anticipate the target for publication is 31 January 2018. In the meantime, we have advised the relevant sponsor to investigate the issue and advise us accordingly.  15 Dec 2017

      Sponsor's analysis

      TBD
      Data collection by the sponsor                
      CAA PIR assessment  
      As the PIR has progressed, it has identified some areas that need to be reviewed in more detail. At this stage, we anticipate that the final CAA analysis report for Modules A, B and D will be published around the end of March, subject to no other areas being identified as requiring more detailed review.  


      As advised in the previous update, as the PIR progressed, it had identified some areas that needed to be reviewed in more detail. It is important that we carefully consider all the benefits and impacts of the original decision as part of the PIR process. Our airspace team is also dealing with several other significant pieces of work and is having to balance that workload while ensuring that we carefully consider all the benefits and impacts of the original decision as part of the PIR process.  This has impacted the timescale in which we will be able to complete the review and publish our decision.

      It is difficult to provide a definitive timeline as to when this work will be completed, as we can’t prejudge the outcome of our ongoing work.  However, subject to no other areas being identified as requiring further review, we hope to have completed the PIR for Modules A, B and D during June 2018.